15V 0.46A - Nintendo Switch Not Powering On | Water Damage

Hey all :slight_smile: Thanks in advance for looking at this post, I’m fairly new to repairing electronics and this is my first ever attempt at repairing a Nintendo Switch.

I bought a Nintendo Switch for £50 off Ebay, stating it didn’t power on and they had no idea what was wrong with it as it didn’t power on nor did it charge. I’ll list my findings below in some sort of order and hopefully that will help you see what I do :slight_smile:

1. The Amp Meter was showing 15v 0.16a, but then went to 15v 0.46a. The battery that is in there shows a voltage reading of 3.90v, and steadily rises. However, this also drains quickly when I take out the charger. At this point there is still nothing on the screen.

2. I replaced the battery to start with one that was reading 4.0v fully charged. I still have the exact same issue, so I have ruled out a battery issue for the time being.The Switch shows 15v from charger to the point above the charger.

3. I took the board out completely and gave it a good clean with IPA as there was some clear water damage where the card reader was. There was also a bit of a battery leak that came off very easy with IPA.

4. I then tested for shorts around the board in the common places. No shorts from ground around M92 chip, BQ charging chip or P13USB (using the shielding just to the right of the CPU or the screw). There is also continuity on the Coil, however it was a bit dirty before I cleaned it up and it wasn’t making a solid connection with continuity but now it is.

5. When I’m charging the Switch, two capacitors surrounding BQ charging chip AND the coil itself get very hot quite quickly. Also to note, if I place both probes on either side of these two capacitors, I get a short for around 1 second then it goes (I thought if it was a certain short it would stay beeping).