Advice starting a business

I know there’s a couple of threads like this but… the last one I saw was pre-pandemic. I’ve gotten bit by the repair bug and while everyone is on Hire/Fire freezes down here (at least in I.T.) I figured I might see about doing this for side money at the least.

So, I’ve always been the go-to guy for all of my friends and family whenever they’re having computer problems (hardware or software) and I can generally fix everything I try to, unless it’s horribly liquid damaged or something. I have some soldering experience but no Hot-Air Rework station and not a lot of capital to get equipment (currently looking for a new job and helping my mother pay off my late father’s bills). What capital I do have would preferably be used to get things to fix.

What got me interested again was a junky Nintendo Switch I bought for cheap. Had several issues but it helped knock some of the rust off my disused small electronics repair skills. Most of my experience is desktop, and laptop repair. Luckily nothing seems to have needed soldering so I’m hoping I dodged that bullet as I don’t have a hot-air rework station, which as I understand is required for things like the charge port on the Switch.

I’m looking for advice on trying to get started. My mother always taught me to not say anything bad if I couldn’t say something nice, so I’ll just say the GameStops around here are not much help. I do know a few managers at the various local Best Buys because my mom used to be there all the time buying stuff, returning stuff or taking things to Geek Squad for years, but I so far have not had any luck yet.

Issues fixed on the junky Nintendo Switch

• Missing all but the 4 main screws holding the console together, the screw behind the kickstand and all but one screw on each of the joy-con rails.