Another .44 A Switch

I was repairing a Switch that I believed had a bad charge port. Everything worked great on it, and it charged just fine, but wouldn’t dock to the TV. In my limited experience, that can be a bad USB port.

I replaced the port, and it seemed to charge fine but again, wouldn’t dock. I rechecked it and realized when I flipped my cable over and plugged it in, it stopped charging. Flip it back over, and it charged again. So I figured I had a faulty replacement port, or I didn’t get the solder hot enough to flow and make a good connection when replacing.

So again, I replaced the charge port, and this time it charged both ways, no problem. But it still wouldn’t dock. Then it shut off and wouldn’t start back up. I checked amperage again, and now it won’t fast charge, it’s stuck at .44A. Tried it with a known good battery same result. Won’t fast charge won’t boot.

Unfortunately, I don’t have anyway of checking shorts in the caps. I’m very new to this and am still building my tool set.

But any suggestions? I was thinking of replacing M92T36, but honestly I’d just be guessing if that’s the issue. I know Steve said in his videos he hadn’t figured out how to fix Switches like this, but it was just working. I can’t figure out what could’ve happened to brick it now.

Thanks in advance

I would check around the video chip too, but have you check all the pins on the usb c port to see if it has a reading?

I don’t have anyway to check continuity unfortunately. But I think I will go ahead and replace the video chip as well as the charging chip. Can’t hurt anything.

I would check before replacing. If you have bad connections on the usb c port it doesn t make sense to change a single chip. If you don t have a breakout board you can disassemble your dock and use the usb c plug and the ribbon cable for testing continuity threw the port.

Sorry for my ignorance, as I’m new to all of this, but how would I use the dock USB Plug and cable to check the Switch USB Port?