M92T36 replaced still short on VCONN_IN

Hi,

I bought a defektiv Switch and found that the cap above M92T36 for the VCONN_IN pin (pin 36) indicates a short in the line. I replaced the M92T36 and checked the amperage. It was ok. (~0.45 and than ~1.40)
I reassamble everything and got an error 2101-0001. So I took it a part again and checked the new M92T36 again and the pin VCONN_IN shows again a short. I desolder the new M92T36 and checked that the short is gone and it was gone. To be sure it s not the M92T36 I took a second new M92T36 and soldered it back… the short was back again. Desoldered it again the short is gone.

Any good ideas what I m missing?

1 Like

Hi Calvin, Im not a pro when it comes to Nintendo Switch, but did you try to replace the cap that was showing the short from the beginning?

Vconn has a maximum input voltage of 6V
There should be somewhere a dcdc converter that brings the usbc voltage down

Check voltage of vconn_in without M92T36

Now I m total confused…

I reassamble the Switch and powered it on. It started but it freezed on the mainscreen and both working tested Joy-Cons would not connect to the Switch neither plugged nor wireless. At the second try it recognized the left Joy-Con plugged-in for a short time than it lost connection, while I was unpluging and pluging the right Joy-Con. I a third try it freezed again.

I checked the mentioned cap above the M92T36 again and now it shows a reading…

Calvin i saw a youtube video yesterday and a guy had the same problem with the freeze/no power with both joy con attached…
The problem was that there was a small amout of corrosion and dirt on one of the joy con flex cables

Thank You, Dallas. It was a good hint. I found corrosion at two pins at the right Joy-Con rail. After cleaning both rails both Joy-Cons are working plugged and wireless. Only the ‘Plugging’-Animation for the right one is missing.

Nice!

Im glad that it worked :slight_smile: