Need advices for Nintendo Switch and Switch Lite with BSOD

Hi guys,
new Switches, this time with the famous BSOD :slight_smile:
One is a Switch Lite, the owner said that the Switch felt on the ground and was then showing a blue screen. When i press the back cover it starts and boot up normally. Would you give it a chance knowing that i have no experience with SOC soldering and if yes, what would be the best approach to attempt a reball of the APU ?
The second doesn’t seem to do anything even pressing both the APU and the RAM modules, that Switch was kind of abused, the case was bend and not in a pretty good shape.
Thanks for the advice where to start looking at.

Hi all,

Found this thread which contains a lot of valuable information. Will keep you posted.
https :// www . tronicsfixforum . com/t/nintendo-switch-blue-screen-of-death-bsod/5311/16

Hi guys, ok started my investigation about the regular Nintendo Switch with BSOD. I removed the EMMC and tried to inject payload which succeeded, and i am able to boot Hekate. Unfortunately, the screen is cracked half left, and therefore i only see the right part of the screen and touch also doesn’t work. So far that’s where i am standing, the most interesting point is that when i am in Hekate, i see no charging current to the battery and no information about it, even if the battery is a bit charged. Could it be that the BSOD on that Switch is due to a bad fuel gauge ? I tried to reflow it, no success, same behavior. Thanks for the advice, and happy new year to everyone, all the best for 2022.

Hi, be very carfull when reflowing the Tegra. Dont use to much heat. Use a big nozzle for your hot air. Heat up the back of the board to 350C for 2min. Then flip around and Heat the tegra for 2-3mins. Put (good) flux around the Chip and Heat up to 400C until the solder at the frame melts. Then very carfully tip the edge of the tegra from the side. It should move to the side by 0,5mm or so.