Switch lite battery drain, 1.8v rail shorted

Hello all,

I am new to electronics repair and got a non functional nintendo switch lite from eBay which had a damaged USB-C port. I have replaced the port (and MAX17050 since it flew away while replacing the port) and now it turns on and charges but it has very high battery drain (it will go from 100% to 0% overnight in standby mode).

I checked the board again and found that the 1.8v line is shorted. (only 5ohm resistance on cap next to pin 18 on M92T36 chip) and now I am a bit lost. The rest of the caps around this chip show no shorts and normal values.

When plugged in, I can measure 1.8v in this cap. Also found shorts in other caps connected to 1.8v rail.

Could this be an issue from the M92T36 IC? Also BQ readings seem normal according to other threads I’ve read in this forum.

Thank you in advance for your help

Can you take photos front and back of the board, good quality, so I can take look (maybe something will stand out)

Use an image host and format like

imageshack (dot) com/yourimage

(for example)

Makes sense without the fuel gauge and also because of the short to ground on 1V8PDR

Now you have identified the fault, refrain fom plugging in / connecting battery etc until the short is cleared to avoid further damage

Thank you for your reply. I uploaded some pics here:

ibb . co/MZWFY4S
ibb . co/QFggTFV
ibb . co/hBY638X
ibb . co/hCJVWcP
ibb . co/ZKbf4Gm
ibb . co/D4JLx6Q
ibb . co/jfCsrhW
ibb. co/0y7BqRv

I think the switch had been opened before as some screws were missing.

I also tried troubleshooting by undoing my changes (removed port and MAX17050 but the short was still there)

Did the short to ground on 1V8PDR only occur after you did the USB port / fuel gauge rework?

I’ll attach images so others can easily see them

Nothings jumping out to me in the photos apart from possibly a few areas where I might see (hard to tell) stray solder spatter