Switch wont charge or turn on. Strange issue happened

Hi all.

Bare with me, I’m no expert (little hobby) and this is the first in-depth switch I’m trying to repair.

Got a switch here HAC-001 with the mainboard reading HAC-CPU-01.

Getting no image on the screen, won’t turn on. No charge icon but it does seem to charge (or did, i’ll get to that)

Originally I couldn’t find any shorts, but I saw a video online of a guy testing the voltage at what looks like a test pad just above the charge port near the water damage mark. I checked mine and it was reading 17.26v which if I’m not mistaken is way too high and should be near 15v (correct me if I’m wrong).

I saw some posts on this forum which says to check Pin 5 and 6 of the M92T36 chip, mine was reading 3.82v for both, however, Pin 9 was reading 17.17V (not sure if that’s normal but I assume not).

I have attached an image of my measurements

link to img imgur. com/oqDXXv3 (space between r and .com)

The battery was charging but it was slow charging and I could see the numbers increase when testing across my multiple meter. I left it on all night and the battery reached 4.60v (not sure what it should be at full charge).

Now I have an additional problem, im not sure if I caused while testing the voltage of components or if the high voltage charging finally did something but i now have a short on the cap above the M92T36 chip.

link to img imgur. com/cGUQhdf (space between r and .com)

Pin 5 and 6 read the same 3.82v while Pin 9 is now 0v and the test pad above the charge port is also on 0v so this says its not longer charging.

Firstly if the M92T36 is faulty would it still allow a slow charge? and can any one confirm if this chip being faulty would cause no image/no charge icon.

Is there anything you can point to that would be the reason for the high 17.17v charge.

Many thanks for any help you can give me.

(Also no expert, but I have experience with Nintendo switches)