[New to repairs] No stage 2 boot, no shorts, charging, stage 1 with missing power rails

Hi everyone,
I bought myself a 2nd hand Switch to learn a few things as a hobbyist (I’m completely new to this). It was listed as “untested”, but that was obviously a lie: a torn ribbon cable for the backlight, some sharpie writings on the board, a sticker on the game card reader which reads “out of order”… I guess I’m going to learn a lot with this one :wink:

Anyhow, when plugged in, it draws 0.15A at 15V, then lowers to 0.05A. When pressing the power button, it goes to zero. When plugged in to a computer, it draws 0.46 at 5V. It’s detected by Windows, and even seen by TegraRCM as “OK”, but no payload can be injected.

I checked everywhere with my multimeter for shorts, bad filters, blown fuses, etc, but everything looks normal.

I followed Retrosix’s guide, and I found a lot of missing rails around MAX77620.
Stage 1 rails:

• VSYS: 4.2V
  • 1V8: OK
  • 1V1: OK
  • 3V3: OK
    *** 1V0: 0.8V**
    *** 1V05: 0V**
    *** 1V3: 0V**

Then of course 0V on every stage 2 rails.

In your opinion, does that mean MAX77620 is faulty here?
Please let me know if you need more info or measurements, I’m very eager to learn.
Thanks for you help!

I’d like to post a picture of the rails or a link to said picture, but I encounter errors from the forum when I try, weird…

If tegraRCM is detecting the switch in RCM mode and you’ve not purposely put it into rcm mode then that is likely a nand issue or the switch has autoRCM enabled.

Try sending a payload to the switch, if tegraRCMGui shows a 0x7000 message then it sent successfully and the switch is not patched and may just have auto rcm enabled

Hi PhynxVT, thank you so much for your answer. I did try to send a payload, but the program hangs (“not responding”). I tried an online version, no success either.
Even if I were in AutoRCM, shouldn’t I be getting all the power rails?