Nintendo Switch Lite: Battery Drain & Heat by 2 Big ICs (Prior repairs explained)

Hey all,

I’m new to electronics and repair but love each and every step, moment, and repair. The switch in question is my son’s that I have done work on before (charge port) and have learned on. Last it wasn’t turning on, found a short on M92 and replaced it. Works fine but the next morning battery went from 100% to 20%. Charged it again and turned the console off. Came home and it’s dead. Took the board out again and see no shorts on BQ or Max17050 but did notice 2 big chips getting warm to the touch. I can’t see how to add pictures but the writing is: STM3 F038c6t6 9927R 0V98 MYS 99 916 and the other RMC AL05839 J4e5521) They are on opposite sides of each other so I can’t really tell which is getting hotter but I get 2 shorted caps (at least what I believe to be a cap) on each side. I will try freeze spray today and see if I can isolate anything. Also, the board draws 0.20 @5v with or without a battery.

PS I have tried various other forums in the electronics community and maybe it’s my questions but I am beginning to get the feeling that newbs are not welcome. I really hope I can find a home here to learn and grow.

Figured out how to upload pictures. I marked the shorter components with a black sharpie so hopefully you can see the black dots. There are only 2 on each picture.

CORRECTION: Board draws 0.20a @5v WITHOUT battery

The top IC is the chip responsible for handling button input, IC on the bottom pic is the audio chip. I do believe the capacitor on the right in the top pic you have marked is tied in directly to the audio chip. Have you removed them to see if the shorts clear?